Multitasking Does Not Equal Effectiveness

1

We touched on the subject of Limited Capacity in class, where multitasking was briefly mentioned. Throughout the years I have been in college, I have heard various Professors say multitasking is impossible.  I would respond with absolute disagreement because I considered that being able to pick-up the phone, look up names and transfer calls, as well as placing facilities request on an online system and also answering emails and completing administrative projects and greeting, seating and announcing guests in a close range of time was multitasking and also I thought that my brain looked as cool as that Octopus up there. However, I have learned that multitasking may actually be frying my neurons, so I have decided to quit my job!  (Just kidding!)

Multitasking is the ability to perform various tasks at once – each one effectively. 98% of us are unable to do that and this is why multitasking is considered almost impossible by many. This humor-filled awesome blog article from the “Psychology Today” magazine helps us understand what “Supertaskers” are and the benefits of being a “monotasker”.

1: Image from https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/brain-trust/201202/is-your-brain-multitasking

One thought on “Multitasking Does Not Equal Effectiveness

  1. I believe your professors said that multitasking is impossible because of limited capacity processors of information. I agree to your point that multitasking is possible, but as the name implies, you can do only limited tasks at the same time. Your experience for multitasking can be done by most of the people. However, some tasks cannot be done at the same time. For example, you cannot watch TV news, listen to the radio, read the newspaper, and try to understand the information for all of those three at the same time. Therefore, in my opinion, you need to use your sensory feelings and distribute your attention to handle multiple tasks. Sometimes tasks can be easy enough to distribute your attention (e.g. your experience), but sometimes tasks can be hard to distribute your attention (e.g. my examples). Even if you can do multitasking, you are not focusing on a single task, so your output of the tasks is often hindered. This is well portrayed by fatality report, where cellphone use causes over 1 in 4 car accidents in the US. Below is the link to the article.
    http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2014/03/28/cellphone-use-1-in-4-car-crashes/7018505/

    Like

Comments are closed.