Language & The Whorfian Hypothesis

During our Monday night class, I recall Professor Hurson stating that she is a believer of the “Whorfian Hypothesis”, I must say that I am too. I believe that language is determined by thought, like everything else in our lives. Here is a video that explains more in depth, Whorf’s idea on how language, and the way we think connect through “linguistic relativity”.

One thought on “Language & The Whorfian Hypothesis

  1. After watching this video I agree that language is a part of our everyday life. With out language and thought a lot of things will not be clear enough. How will people communicate with one another and understand everyday life. Imagining living in a world where there’s no thoughts of language, no communication. It will be insane!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.