Final Summary

I think this class was really interesting. We learned a lot and I believe most of the things we learned might actually stay in our brains and be useful. It’s really funny how there’s a cognitive explanation for the most simply to the most complicated processes.

I plan on going into law enforcement and I believe that understanding the way people forget things could really help eyewitness testimony and identification. Hermann Ebbinghaus’s forgetting curve really explains how forgetting is not a simple linear function. In fact people start to forget immediately after an event and for the first hour they lose a lot of the details. However, after about eight hours of rapidly forgetting the line starts to level off. After some time whatever is stored in a person’s memory will remain there. Ebbinghaus hypothesize that people could use mnemonics and repetition to train their memory to help them overcome the forgetting curve. I think that law enforcement could benefit from understanding this and making sure witnesses and victims continuously recall the event to make sure no important details have been lost.

I also believe that mnemonics are something we should make sure to understand and use in the future. I think that people who get the best grades are the ones who know exactly how to store things in their brain in order recall them when they need them. When studying for exams I find myself connecting new terms to things I already know or Spanish words to make them easier to recall during the tests. During class we learned about the Method of Loci, Interacting Images, The Peg-word Method, and Recoding or mediating. From these mnemonics the one I believe best helps me is recoding. However after learning about interacting images I think I’ll use it in the future.

– Isbely Cabral 🙂

