Cognitive Development

This picture made me think of something we didn’t cover in cognitive development. It is said/known that a baby can hear their mother’s words or know when she is singing. They feel what they feel emotionally. Is it possible that the start of some cognitive behaviors can start in the womb? I mean if a child can hear inside and although their brain aren’t fully developed, is it possible they start learning from then? I know brains aren’t fully developed within the womb, but if you think about it, how does a baby know when to turn before delivery or what makes them cry when they are first born? Just food for thought.

4 thoughts on “Cognitive Development

  1. Some studies say that the brain is actually not fully developed until adolescence; although, other studies say that the brain is not fully developed until early adulthood. And same thing with this, it all depends on who you ask. But I think like you, that early cognitive development definitely starts in the womb

    Like

  2. this post really made me think. I have heard that a baby will develop faster cognitively if the mother listens to certain types of music while the baby is in the womb. On a side note my family has this running joke that it really works. First my aunts first child she wasn’t to into the preborn learning, but with their second child she would listen to different musical symphony’s. The first child came out as not the brightest child in the world ended up at rcc for college. The second child who was listing to Mozart in the womb got accepted to Harvard, go figure.

    Like

  3. I have two kids, when I was pregnant with both of them, while they were in my womb, I was singing to them, as well as put headphones to my stomach and play music, and I will constantly talk to them. A baby knows when its time to turn to give birth, unless its a stubborn baby like my daughter was(lol), she would not turn. It is very important for a mother to talk to their baby constantly while pregnant. When I will talk to my kids while I was pregnant, they will kick me like crazy and move constantly. When I gave birth to both of my kids, as soon as they heard my voice, their heads turned right to me and than they smile. I could never forget that.

    Like

  4. wow, this post really makes you think. I’ve never thought of this before. Maybe because the mother and the fetus are connected by umbilical cord, they they some kind of connection of understanding. Or, it could be biological. We all know that just a little bit of alcohol consumption could develop fetal alcohol syndrome. Just like that, biological factors such as hormones could enable fetus to understand the mother’s intention.

    Like

Comments are closed.