Final Blog Post (Selective Inattention and Mind Palace)

The two concepts I found to be most interesting and important were Selective Inattention and Memory, specifically regarding the mind palace. Selective Inattention dealt with failures to notice certain things if your mind is elsewhere. This could’ve been Change or Choice blindness. I found the experiments where people couldn’t recognize what they had just witnessed as being important to how people are in today’s society. Everyone has specific things they believe are more important, so when something happens that may sway what they believe happened, this inattention becomes very relevant.  The jam experiment is a good example.  People already had made up in their mind what they BELIEVED was the jam they liked, when if fact they were choosing the other jam. This happens all the time.  The other concept I found important was when we watched and discussed the TedTalks video on memory.  His description and usage of the mind palace is something we all can use to our advantage on a daily basis.  This could help to memorize test material, novels we enjoy, song lyrics, or practically anything we want. I first heard of the mind palace while watching the television show Sherlock on BBC/Netflix.  I remember saying to myself how great it would be to be able to do that. Then I came into class one day and we were discussing it! Although not an easy concept to completely grasp, its one that I will try to use long after we leave this class.

As Professor Hurson is well aware, my only gripe about this course is the usage of this blog.  Not everyone considers social media a positive tool.  Although I understand the reasoning behind the blog, making it 20 percent of your grade is a little steep.  I would recommend making the blog a part of attendance and giving it no more than 10 percent weight, that way papers and tests are still the defining factor to ones grade.

I also want to say that Professor Hurson was a model of patience, as numerous times she was disrespected by some students in this class who felt the need to constantly run their mouths during lectures. For those students, please retake a class on common courtesy and respect, and remember that we all pay a lot of money to listen to the ACTUAL professor, and not to your mindless blabbering. I commend professor Hurson for her patience and thank her for a great semester even with all the distractions.

